winning dance

A Complete List of Every Dancing with the Stars Winner

Derek Hough has taken home a whopping six Mirrorball trophies.

Fourteen years after its 2005 premiere, Dancing with the Stars remains a cultural phenomenon. As fans know, professional dancers pair with celebrities to take on various styles of dance and compete in hopes of winning the Mirrorball Trophy. Over 300 celebrities have competed for the title over the course of 27 seasons, and the (already controversial) upcoming season 28 will bring some changes to the show. So far, we know that 2019’s cast includes Lamar Odom, Karamo Brown, James Van Der Beek, and President Trump’s former White House press secretary, Sean Spicer. And just hours before season 28 kicked off, we learned that contestant Christie Brinkley actually dropped out of the race due to an arm injury. Her replacement? None other than her look-alike daughter Sailor Brinkley-Cook, who perfectly fit into mom’s costume. But before we tune in to the September 16 premiere, let’s revisit every single winner of Dancing with the Stars—along with their finest Dancing moments.

The former Playboy Playmate of the Month and General Hospital star became the first-ever winners of Dancing with the Stars, overcoming tough criticism from the judges, a wardrobe malfunction, and some low scores. Monaco later returned for DWTS: All-Stars, where she came in third place with partner Val Chmerkovskiy.

Most memorable dance: Their freestyle to “Let’s Get Loud” by Jennifer Lopez.

His former boy band past (remember 98 Degrees?) may have helped Lachey nab the title, but with the help of Burke, their ranks remained high from the get-go. They got three perfect scores of 30 throughout their time, and Lachey returned to Dancing with the Stars as one of the All-Stars contestants in season 15, where he was partnered with Anna Trebunskaya and became the third couple eliminated from the competition.

Most memorable dance: Their freestyle to Big & Rich’s “Save a Horse (Ride a Cowboy)”.

Smith was the first in a line of many successful football players crossing over into the world of dance. Burke took home her second Mirrorball Trophy in a row in this pairing, and they nearly lost to Mario Lopez and partner Karina Smirnoff, as both pairs had matching scores going into the finale. The fan vote won out, giving the title to Smith.

Most Memorable Dance: His samba to “Sir Duke” by Stevie Wonder.

The short-track speed skater may be the most decorated U.S. athlete of all time in the Olympic winter games, but he has another title in his pocket: Holder of the Mirrorball Trophy. He and Hough (who won her first title during this season) received five perfect scores throughout the season, setting a record. He returned for the All-Stars season, where he was paired with Karina Smirnoff, and finished in fifth place.

Most Memorable Dance: The samba set to “I Like to Move It” by Reel 2 Real.

Marking a second win for Hough, the three-time Indianapolis 500 auto racing champion was shocked he made it past the first week, let alone won the entire series—he only packed enough clothes for two weeks. He told Time, “I accepted the challenge. I said, ‘You know what—what’s the worst that can be? I get eliminated the first week and go back home.’ It was an experience.” The experience was a good one, because Castroneves returned for the All-Stars season, where he was paired with Chelsie Hightower and finished in 10th place.

Most Memorable Dance: His quick-step set to “Hey Pachuco” from The Mask.

Yamaguchi and Ballas took DWTS to the next level: The pair gained four of the five perfect scores given out this season, and three of them were for their three Finals dances, giving them a perfect 90 out of 90 in the finals. They received the highest score for every single performance that season.

Most Memorable Dance: Oh, duh, the jive to “Rip it Up” by Little Richard, of course.

Burke was the recipient of every single perfect 30 score that seaso—first for her foxtrot in week seven, next for her freestyle in the finals, and again in the finals for her repeated Viennese waltz. Burke spent a record-breaking eight weeks at the top of the leaderboard during her season. Despite an injury, Burke and Hough (in his first of six wins, a feat no one else has accomplished) took it all the way to the end. Burke would go on to host the show for three years, replacing Samantha Harris.

Most Memorable Dance: The freestyle dance to “You’re the One That I Want” by John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John.

Johnson became one of the youngest DWTS winners of all time when she narrowly (we’re talking less than 1 percent) took the title over French actor Gilles Marini. Johnson would make the Dancing with the Stars finals a second time when she competed in the All Stars season, which turned out to be Season 8: The Redemption. She competed alongside Marini and eventual winner Melissa Rycroft (who came in third on season 8) and came in second place with her partner, Derek Hough.

Over 25 seasons, controversies galore, and plenty of sequins, here's a list of every single winner of Dancing With the Stars.

Winning Works


Based on federal and statewide mandates, and with safety paramount, we made the difficult decision to cancel our Winning Works performances, March 20-22, 2020 at the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago.

Thank you to all of our Winning Works Sponsors and Supporters, without whom we would not have the opportunity to present these works.

The Joffrey wholeheartedly thanks our Winning Works patrons who have converted their tickets to fully tax-deductible donations. We are encouraging all patrons to consider this option. Doing so will help us prevent further loss and keep our eyes on the future. More information about tickets can be found here.

Winning Works Production Sponsors:

Wilson Garling Foundation

Winning Works Sponsors:

with Joffrey Board Member Rita Spitz

Myrna W. Kaplan

Dana D. Rice

About Winning Works:

The Winning Works Choreographic Competition was created to recognize talented and emerging ALAANA choreographers and to provide them with a platform to showcase their original and innovative work. The winning choreographers are awarded a $5,000 stipend and are given the opportunity to seek guidance from The Mary B. Galvin Artistic Director of The Joffrey Ballet, Ashley Wheater, and Academy Director Raymond Rodriguez.

The four recipients of the tenth annual Winning Works Choreographic Competition included Chanel DaSilva, Tsai Hsi Hung, Pablo Sánchez (recipient of the inaugural Zach Lazar Winning Works Fellowship, named in honor of former Joffrey Board Chair Zach Lazar), and Durante Verzola.

The Joffrey Academy of Dance, Official School of The Joffrey Ballet is excited to announce a call for artists to submit applications for The Joffrey’s Winning Works Choreography Award. The goal of this award is to identify three ALAANA choreographers to set their work on the Joffrey Academy Trainees and Joffrey Studio Company. The winners will each receive $5,000.